Posted in life

Being settled

Had to write this one ….because somewhere I feel I should be expressing my views. Over the last few years I have been posed with a question …..mostly by people who basically play no role in my life. What’s the question?……… “So when are you settling down?”

So here is my reply to all those concerned fellow beings.

Firstly I don’t understand the concept of “settling down”. I don’t find myself in an unsettled situation. I am eating, breathing, facing problems in life ….just like normal people do. So what is so unsettled about my life?

And if it is….then I feel that’s the way life was meant to be……unsettled.

Yes I am a girl/lady/woman whatever you call it. Yes I am big enough to be married and looking after kids. Yes women (especially unmarried) are looked as objects of lust. And it’s a yes for many other things……

But No ……being a wife or a mother are not essential requirements to call myself a human. Being a wife or a mother are one of the greatest of relationships……but No they are not the only ones……I am somebody’s daughter, granddaughter, sister ……somebody’s best buddy…..and believe me these relations have equal weight.

To all my friends , their parents… All those so called concerned uncle aunties….as we pass through life each one of us writes a story of our life. I may not have a story of meeting a prince…or stories of seeing my children and grandchildren grow. But I surely have stories to write…..stories of how the smallest things in life made the biggest difference to me…….stories of childhood…..stories of that shy girl…..stories of infiriority complexes……..stories of growing up with my brother ,……. stories of how my mother became my best buddy as I grew up , ……stories on how she accepted me as a child even though she wanted me to grow up, ……stories on how I struggled to adjust and understand my father, …….stories on how I had loved my pets and how in them I found more compassion than I would find in a human,…….. stories on how people once strangers to me became my best friends………..and stories on how those once closest to me became total strangers…….

Pheww!!!!………the list is long …..I guess i have already lived my life. My journey through life may not be similar to most of the others…..but I have seen enough in life too. By book of life may not have stories of marriage and motherhood …..but believe me every story I write ….will be worth the read. 

I feel bad saying this………..but to all those out there….if me being unmarried or me still behaving like a child or me not having a stable job at 30……makes me abnormal or a lesser human or a loser…………so be it ……abnormal I am, a lesser human I am and a loser I am. …….And mind you…..Jolta loves it that way.

Lots of love ………Jolta.

Author:

Joalita .....or Jolta is just one from the crowd. And every post on this blog is one from the crowd of the random thoughts that pass her mind.

One thought on “Being settled

  1. I agree with you, each one’s life is meant to be each one’s journey, all need not have the same goals in life or head towards the same destination. People need to realise that and respect that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

