Tibetan flags !!!! Beautifully fluttering in the wind. Made me feel so mesmerized when I saw them first on TV. 

What’s the Tibetan flags all about?

They are small rectangular pieces of cloth strung together and usually hoisted in open spaces among mountains. The flags are made up of 5 colours, each representing the 5 elements of the earth.

Red = fire , green = water, yellow = earth , blue = sky , white = air.

Gives me that feeling of being one with the universe.

And then there is a small chant that goes on with them ….” Om Mani padme hung”.

This is one of the explanation of the mantra that I found on the net…..

The meaning and significance of the six Tibetan syllables have been interpreted in a variety of ways. One common interpretation is that each syllable corresponds to one of the six realms of existence and purifies the vice associated with that realm:

  1. Om purifies bliss and pride (realm of the gods)
  2. Ma purifies jealousy and need for entertainment (realm of the jealous gods)
  3. Ni purifies passion and desire (human realm)
  4. Pad purifies ignorance and prejudice (animal realm)
  5. Me purifies poverty and possessiveness (realm of the hungry ghosts)
  6. Hum purifies aggression and hatred (hell realm)

I read quite a bit about the flags and I finally ordered one for myself. I knew they would not be authentic tough. But nevertheless they resemble them. I put them up in my car. 

For me the flags has nothing to do with religion. It is not even a belief…… It is just an emotion, a hope from the heart ……..that whenever the flags flutter , they produce positive vibes that spread goodwill in the surroundings. A hope also that as the flags flutter they send waves to the heavens. Waves on which  our aspirations and our hopes are laden. As I see them flutter at the back of my car, it gives me that positive feel. There is some positive energy that fluters with them. Somethings can’t be expressed entirely in words.

My prayer flags have got wornout, so they need to be replaced. I have already ordered my new set of prayer flags and I will be putting them up on 27th Feb…….the Tibetan new year. They say it’s an auspicious day to put up the flags.

After the prayer flags my next fascination is for the Tibetan prayer wheel. But there is time for that……

