Many a times , when I make time for myself …..I sit back and introspect over life (over the years this has become my favorite pass time πŸ˜€). I recall many events in my life…..Both big and small, happy and depressing. I recall people in my life …….I recall ……And I am amazed as to how our human lives are so intertwined.

The analogy that comes to mind is of a bus stop. I am the bus stop ……Static and stationary at one place ( fixed frame of reference ) …..Everything else is on a move.

There are plenty of buses that pass by me. Some buses will never halt at my stop. Some will halt …….And I’ll have passengers alighting at my stop. None of them will wait forever …….That’s for sure (that’s the sad part). Some may have their connecting bus come immediately…….While some might have to wait with me a little longer.

Let’s start with the buses that never pass by me …..Well…….they made up of those billions of people who I am never gonna see or interact ever ever never in my life on Earth. It’s not such a small world afterall πŸ˜€

Then you have the buses that would pass by me …..But never halt. Now these comprise of the lakhs of people who I’ll come across . We just gonna see each other from far. Sometimes never even realising that we crossed by. Our lives completely insignificant to the other. We play no role in the others life. But still we passed by …….

Then comes the buses that halt at my stop…..And there come the people …..The people who will be a part of my life…..Parents, siblings, friends, enemies, ……the fisherwomen, the beggar…..the priest…..my colleagues at work……..Many many ….many of them would alight at my stop. But non of them would wait forever.

The beggar….I must have interacted with him for just 2 minutes. But I guess we both waited for a lifetime for that one moment…..That one interaction…..Where our lives would meet. We both played our part in each other’s lives. And then we moved on. …..It’s like he boarded his connecting bus ……And he dissappeared into the universe ……never to be seen again.

Some interactions can last for just a few seconds…..while some for years.

We have our parents and our siblings. They gonna be there on the bus stop for a little longer. These are the people who play a great role in our lives . They’re the ones to shape our lives…..our happiness …..Our pain. But as I said earlier……..nobody is gonna be there forever. And that’s the worst part. No matter how prepared we are with the truth……Parting ways is always difficult. It’s encouraging to believe that life would still go on…..But surely some part of us dies …….With the partying of our beloveds.

The next important group of people to stay with us for a little longer time are  our friends. Friends are like our second family. But within friends also we have variations. 

We have our thick friends….and our thin friends. Our old friends and our new friends. Our public friends …….and our secret friends. And no matter what the differences ……They are all special.

There are a few friends who would come  so close, that I  know I would wish that they would stay on my bus stop for ever……..But it never happened in the past  and it never will. But the worst part is that they would leave, when I would least expect them to. ………Heartbreaks are a part of life 😦   I guess.

Anyways ……Life still goes on …..Buses will still pass by me….Some would stop……Some would not….New people would alight ……Some would wait for a short while……Some would wait longer. And when their connecting bus comes over they would board it and dissappear………. Dissappear far into the universe. 

And me ….I am the bus stop…..stationary and Static…..Watching people come and go. Sharing my space with some……Making memories …..Both good and bad. 

Someday later this bus stop will be pulled down and it’s remains would be taken away……..far into the universe…… Leaving no sign behind.

Now let’s turn towards you my reader. ….Have you crossed my stop? Did you alight at my stop? ……would you stay? …..How long would it be before you moved on?

Whoever you are , whatever the duration of time you spend at my stop …..As long as you’re with me …..you are allowed to share my life. …..My joy , my pain , my laughter , my tear. And in return I’ll be honoured to share yours …….If you allow me to.

Let’s make the best of life, the best of memories, the best of the few moments we get…….Before you move on into the universe……..Or before I am pulled down.

I am the Bus Stop ……. πŸ™‚

