Being a teacher has its own set of advantages and disadvantages.

One of the biggest disadvantage of being a teacher that I have experienced is the loss of privacy. Let’s say a teacher teaches 3 classes of around 40 students each and the teacher has been teaching for about 5 years. Then a simple math would mean the teacher has taught about 600 students. Add another 400 students to this list, who might not have been taught by the teacher but have studied in the same institute. That makes it almost a 1000 students who know the teacher.

Now in a small state like ours , whose entire length can be traversed in a mere 4 hrs drive, the probability of bumping into 1 of the 1000 students you’ve taught is very very high.

I go to the market ………..I bump into at least one of my student in the crowd.

I go to the beach ………I see a few of them from far and I end up changing my walking route 😭.

I go for a drive to a far of remote place, stop on a bridge happily clicking my selfie……….suddenly a voice comes from behind ” Hi miss!” 😡

I go for mass and I am fully concentrating on my prayer…………The next day at college “miss I saw you for mass yesterday” πŸ˜‡.

I go for a movie and in the dark I’m hoping I don’t see any of them……..But during the intermission when the lights come on, my hopes are shattered. There they are πŸ˜€

I go to buy fish ………..”Hi miss”

I’m at the pharmacy………” Hello miss”

I rarely attend social gatherings, but if I do ………… There’ll still be that one student I bump into.

It’s like you’re literally being stalked .

Over the years the number of students in my village have increased. Now even my neighbor happens to be my student πŸ˜•.

The moment I see a student I get conscious and I am forced to switch personalities from an immatured carefree girl to a matured serious female.
The funniest part of this stalking drama is the different reactions I notice of the students.

There are some that get so excited to see me………They would literally make you feel like a celebrity.

Some students will just show you an attitude…….” To hell with that teacher”.

Then there are those who feel that I am stalking them. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. They’d be like “why is she here? ” 😀

I don’t know how long i would be in the teaching profession. But if I carry on further , my stalkers would only increase.

A day might come where every 2nd person I meet would be my student and I’ll have to forever but on my serious charecter look.

Anyways until then….. this “hide n seek” between student and teacher is going to continue πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

